Aquatic Certifications

Open the door to employment and volunteer possibilities through our YMCA Aquatic Certifications programs. Certification as a lifeguard or swimming instructor can lead to employment opportunities at the YMCA and elsewhere. You’ll also develop leadership skills that can have a profound impact on your future success.

At the YMCA, you can choose from a variety of certifications:

  • YMCA Swim Instructor
  • Lifesaving Instructor (LSI)
  • Bronze Star
  • Bronze Medallion
  • Bronze Cross
  • National Lifeguard Service – Pool Option (NLP)

Please note: You must be at least 15 years old at the time of exam (must be age 16+ to guard in N.B.) Recertificaiton is required every TWO years.

Find Aquatic Certifications Programs
Aquatic Certifications